Skip to content

Reflection

May 11, 2013

So far the group has been productive because we have repeatedly excluded possibilities: from the initial pool of elements we declared an interest in we have disregarded some to narrow down what we want the performance to be. I can’t help feel but think this is an inherently negative way of working. I still haven’t had the feeling that we have built something up and let it follow a natural course, rather that we have an amalgam of ideas and are tearing pieces away, hoping to find something from the remnants.

On the other hand there have been moments where ideas seemed to come from nowhere, usually after a group discussion or a show and tell. If this is where our creative energy is coming from my reticence towards our working method may just be a response to the fear I have that I don’t feel in control of our creative practice, something which I’m used to having in my own practices. It may well be that underneath this ‘amalgam of ideas’ there’s something forming, that we’re trying to refine and improve.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment